Friday 16 April 2021
Home      All news      Contact us      RSS      English
newtimes - 2 month ago

Miss Rwanda 2021: 37 get Pass as auditions conclude

The weeklong virtual audition exercise by contestants from all parts of the country has seen 37 lucky contestants progressing through to the next stage of Miss Rwanda 2021. A total 0f 413 contestants registered to compete at this year’s edition of the beauty contest but only 37 were given a nod by the jury panel to continue to the pre-selection. During the audition exercise that was held from February 13-19, an all-female jury comprising Miss Rwanda 2016 Jolly Mutesi, Music icon Mariya Yohana Mukankuranga, journalists Michele Iradukunda and Emma Claudine Ntirenganya and Communication specialist Pamela Mudakikwa reviewed the video presentations from all contestants before deciding who will continue the race for the crown. According to Ntirenganya, the jury she was part of granted PASS to the contestants on merit, based on the contestants’ beauty in the photos and videos they sent as well as their performance in their content presentation showed in the videos sent to the jury. “We looked at different criteria while selecting who get PASS but it was not easy to pick them from such a big number of young girls who showed interest to the contest,” Ntirenganya said. The contestants who got PASS were announced on Saturday, February 20, live on KC2, with Kigali recording the highest representation with 14 PASS while Southern Province has the least with only two representatives who progressed to the pre-selection stage. Below are the contestants who progressed to the pre-selection: Eastern Province : Esther Godwin Mbanda,  Queen Dorinema, Hope Akaliza, Sheilla Mugabe, Cynthia Teta, Divine Muziranenge, Doreen Mutesi, Dianah Umwari, Linda Nkusi Uwankusi, Assouma Mugabekazi. City of Kigali:  Morella Isheja Kayitare, Marie Paul Kayirebwa, Chryssie Karera, Laila Kabagema,  Grace Ingabire,  Evelyne Gaju, Grace Akeza, Amanda Akaliza, Hense Teta Musana, Nathalie Musango, Claudette Umwaliwase, Witness Umutoni, Phiona Uwase, Aline Uwera,   Western Province: Sonia Ishimwe, Esther Ingabire, Melissa Umunyurwa, Divine Umunyana, Sandrine Umutoniwase, Sonia Kagame Uwase Northern Province: Rolitha Benitha Isaro, Berline Ufitinema, Teta Lalissa Keza, Aline Uwase, Lea Umutesi Southern Province: Ingabire Honorine, Clementine Uwimana The remaining knock-out events namely pre-selection, the boot camp and finals will be conducted in a bubble system, in a bid to ensure that all five phases of the pageant are conducted safely. Under the bubble system, all contestants will be tested for Covid-19 and isolated while training at the boot camp. As contestants wait for the pre-selection, which takes place on March 6, the public will be given a chance to vote for their favorite contestant in a voting exercise (both online and via SMS) which opens on Monday, February 22 to March 6. The online voting will be done on IGIHE’s website while SMS voting will be done via MTN line by typing ‘MISS’ space ‘Number of a contestant’ and send to 1525. Two contestants with the highest number of votes will book a ticket to progress to the boot camp.

Latest News